Back to list

IMage of the cover of Goodbye to the Madhouse

Goodbye to the Madhouse

McDermott's 2 Hours


On The Fiddle Recordings OTFCD002
A new McDermott's album is a rare thing, one that matches their first album, The Enemy Within, is something to be savoured. Goodbye To The Madhouse features the inspired songwriting of the acerbically witty Nick Burbridge reunited with the original members of the group. The album also involves several Levellers, and marks the first non-Levellers release on their On The Fiddle Recordings label. The Importance of McDermott's in the late eighties folk-punk and edgier folk-rock explosion cannot be over emphasised, they had a seismic effect on the whole scene. The Levellers cite them as a major influence to this day, their cover of Dirty Davy being one of their most popular live tracks.
track list

  1. Molloy
  2. River
  3. Crusaders
  4. Bone's Farewell
  5. Crazy Jane's Day Out
  6. The True Story Of Eugene McQuaid
  7. Stowaway
  8. All Souls' Night
  9. Stand By Yourself
  10. Lie Down And Dream Of Ireland
  11. Trickster

  • Nick Burbridge: vocals, guitar and bodhran
  • Ben Paley: fiddle
  • Matt Gourney: bass, ukelele, harmonica, melodica
  • Tim Cotterell: mandolin, tenor banjo, piano, organ, accordion
  • Charlie Heather: drums and percussion
  • Philippe Barnes: pipes, flute
  • Mandy Murray: concertina
  • John Brewins: whistles, flute
  • Guy Hall: drums
  • Roger Leach: vocals
  • Cate Ferris: vocals
  • Sean Connor: vocals and fiddle
  • Calum Stewart: pipes
  • Ralf Nyren: pipes
  • Terry Bickers: electric guitar
  • Mark Fisher: cahon